• Українська
  • English

< | >

Current issue   Ukr. J. Phys. 2015, Vol. 59, N 7, p.721-725
https://doi.org/10.15407/ujpe59.07.0721    Paper

Vainberg V.V., Pylypchuk A.S., Poroshin V.N., Sarbey O.G.

Institute of Physics, Nat. Acad. of Sci. of Ukraine
(46, Nauky Ave., Kyiv 03028, Ukraine)

Effects of the Real-Space Transfer of Charge Carriers in the n-AlGaAs/GaAs Heterostructures with the Delta-Layers of Impurity in the Barriers

Section: Solid matter
Original Author's Text: English

Abstract: The results of investigations of the electric and magnetic transport phenomena of charge carriers in the heterostructures with quantum wells and impurity delta-layers in adjacent barriers are reviewed and analyzed. The positive magnetoresistance observed at low temperatures (T < 20 K) and the dependence of the charge carrier mobility on the impurity concentration in the delta layers are related to the transport of carriers via two parallel channels with different mobilities, which are the channels formed by the structural and delta-layer quantum wells. The non-linear dependence of the current on the applied electric field strength is explained by the field-induced redistribution of charge carriers between these channels.

Key words: heterostructures, quantum wells, lateral conduction, magnetoresistance, delta doping.


  1. Z.S. Gribnikov, Fiz. Tekh. Poluprov. 6, 1380 (1972).
  2. Z.S. Gribnikov, K. Hess, and G.A. Kozinovsky, J. Appl. Phys. 77, 1337 (1995).
  3. E.I. Lonskaya and O.A. Ryabushkin, JETP Letters. 82, 664 (2005).
  4. V.L. Zerova, L.E. Vorobjev, D.A. Firsov, and E. Towe, Fiz. Tekh. Poluprov. 41, 615 (2007) [Semiconductors 41, 596 (2007)].
  5. N. Sawaki, M. Suzuki, Y. Takagaki, H. Goto, I. Akasaki, H. Kano, Y. Tanaka, and M. Hashimoto, Superlatt. and Microstr. 2, 281 (1986).
  6. V.V. Vainberg, A.S. Pylypchuk, N.V. Baidus, and A.A. Biryukov, Low Temper. Phys. 40, 685 (2014).
  7. N. Balkan, B.K. Ridley, and A.J. Vickers, Negative Differential Resistance and Instabilities in 2-Dimensional Semiconductors (Plenum Press, New York, 1993).
  8. V.Ya. Alyoshkin, A.A. Andronov, A.V. Antonov, N.A. Bekin, V.I. Gavrilenko, D.G. Revin, B.N. Zvonkov, E.R. Linkov, I.G. Malkina, and E.A. Uskova, JETP Letters 64, 478 (1996).
  9. V.V. Vainberg, A.S. Pylypchuk, N.V. Baidus, and B.N. Zvonkov, Semicond. Phys., Quant. Electr. & Optoelectr. 16, 152 (2013).
  10. V.V. Vainberg, A.S. Pylypchuk, V.N. Poroshin, O.G. Sarbey, N.V. Baidus, and A.A. Biryukov, Physica E 60, 31 (2014).
  11. A. Kawabata, J. Phys. Soc. Jap. 53, 3540 (1984).
  12. V.V. Vainberg, Yu.N. Gudenko, P.A. Belevski, M.N. Vinoslavski, V.N. Poroshin, and V.M. Vasetski, Nanosyst., Nanomater., Nanotechn. 4, 41 (2006).